The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering in East Sarajevo is an integrated part of the University of East Sarajevo.

A brief historical overview from the founding of the Faculty:

  • 1958 – The Mechanical Engineering Department of the Technical Faculty in Sarajevo began operating. At that time, in addition to the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, the Faculty also included the Department of Civil Engineering and Architecture.
  • 1961 – The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering in Sarajevo is founded, created by separating the Department of Mechanical Engineering from the Technical Faculty and merging the Wood-Industrial Department of the Faculty of Forestry in Sarajevo.
  • Professor Dragoslav Mirković was elected the first dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering in Sarajevo.
  • 1992 – By the decision of the National Assembly of the Republic of Srpska on the separation of higher education institutions from the University of Sarajevo, the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering in Serbian Sarajevo continued its work in Vogošća under the name: University of Sarajevo of the Republic of Srpska, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering Serbian Sarajevo – Vogošća. Register of the Basic Court in Serbian Sarajevo, No. И-368/94 of 08.06.1994.
  • Professor Momir Šarenac has been appointed the first dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering in Serbian Sarajevo.
  • 1996 – By the decision of the Ministry of Education and Culture No. У-858/96, the place of the Faculty was transferred to Serbian Sarajevo. After the temporary accommodation in Pale, the permanent place of the Faculty is Lukavica, Vuka Karadžića 30.
  • 1997 – The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering continued to work as an organizational unit of the University of East Sarajevo. The full name of the Faculty is: University of East Sarajevo, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering East Sarajevo.
  • Faculty Day is June 8th.
  • Today, studying at the Faculty is realized on the basis of an accredited study program and it is in accordance with the Rules of study based on the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System ECTS – EUROPEAN CREDIT TRANSFER SYSTEM. The study is organized at the Faculty in three cycles, in accordance with the Law.
  • These studies are completed by acquiring certain qualifications, related to the general regulations for each cycle, based on learning outcomes and ECTS credits, and in accordance with the framework qualifications for higher education in Europe and other internationally recognized degrees of higher education.
  • Within the activities of higher education, the Faculty performs educational, teaching, scientific research, expert-consulting and publishing activities, and it may also perform other tasks that commercialize the results of scientific research work.